4 Questions for an Awesome Life

Be It Resolved

Yes, statistically speaking, many of us have already broken our new year’s resolutions, which I’ll refer to here as NYRs. And many of us like to ridicule such resolutions and announce that we no longer want to make them.  But studies have shown that “people with clear and specific goals, written down and shared with others, consistently outperform those who claim to know what they need to do and who thus shun annual goal-setting.” (http://www.forbes.com/sites/robasghar/2013/12/31/experts-dont-give-up-on-the-new-year-resolution/)

I think, that in addition to achieving a S.M.A.R.T (specific, measurable, attainable, relevant and time-bound ) goal as a result of making NYRs, regardless of whether we succeed in them in a given year, NYRs have the added advantage of forcing us to take time to reflect on our past and envision our future, be more mindful and self-aware and try to figure out what life is all about and what it is that we want from it. This obviously is much more of a lengthy process than just figuring out we want to lose x lbs within y months by doing more of x and less of y. It’s a journey. It is the journey of life.

The Framework 

Last year, I spent a lot of time reflecting; I travelled quite a bit, both with friends and alone. I spent money and time to become healthier, started to mediate, did a 360 survey at work, spent more time with people who know me best, met new people with fresh perspective, and admittedly spent a lot of time being a hermit, reading, and reflecting on what I’m going to call Boloorchi’s 4 Questions for an Awesome Life (a la Porter’s 5 Forces for Industry Analysis and Kotter’s 8 Steps for Leading Change, and not as scientific or impressive as Newton’s 3 Laws of Motion):

What: What do I want to be my legacy? What do I want to accomplish over the years in my career and personal life?

Who: Who do I want on my team and with whom do I want to spend my time with in my professional and personal life?

Where: Where do I want to live at various points in my life? Where do I want to visit?

How: How do I want to be remembered? How do I want to conduct myself and live my life?

(Side note: The question of “when” is embedded in all of the above but unfortunately we can’t choose when we live our lives; we can’t choose whether we wish to be born during the renaissance or in the 26th century. I’ll speak more about this in a future blog.) 

After a lot of self-reflection, I have answers to these questions that range from more or less concrete to just a framework or a word-cloud to “still figuring it out”. And I know (hope) that with more self-reflection and growing up, I will have them all answered.

Imma Do Me 

And how will I define success in my life?

When I’m on my death-bed (I know it sounds morbid, #sorrynotsorry), I will have a smile on my face, with my team by my side and say with confidence that I figured out the answers to my 4 Questions and accomplished them all and lived an awesome life.

And then I will sing Sinatra’s “I Did It My Way”…

Leave a Reply

